To obtain a copy of a police incident report, a request can be made in-person or by mail. It is helpful to provided as much detail as possible (e.g. incident number, date, time, location). Every effort will be made to respond to a request in an appropriate and timely manner. In general, police reports are available for release 1-5 business days after the date of incident. Depending on the data request, there may be a nominal fee.
The Blaine Police Department files accident reports resulting in injury or death or total property damage of $1,000 or more with the State of Minnesota. Each individual involved in an accident meeting these criteria is required by the State of Minnesota to fill out a Minnesota Vehicle Crash Report within 10 days of the incident. The state form can be obtained at any police department and mailed or submitted online at www.mndriveinfo.org .
For additional information, contact the Blaine Police Department at 763-785-6168.