Skip to Content

City Council

Thursday, March 30, 2017
PDF Page Email Updates 

As the elected representatives of the people, City Councilmembers comprise the policy-making body of the City. The Council is composed of six members and the Mayor. Though voting equally with the other six members of the Council, the Mayor is the presiding officer at Council meetings and is the official representative of the City. Two Councilmembers are elected from each council ward on staggered four-year terms. The Mayor's position, a four-year term, is elected at large.

The City is comprised of three council wards and 24 voting precincts. Elections are held each August and November in even-numbered years.

The Councilmembers, as a body, implement all policies exclusively through the City Manager and, as individuals, neither perform nor interfere with any of the administrative work themselves.

Blaine, Minnesota - Video TourBook